This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project   Tags: afro-american, civil rights and restorative justice project, naacp  

Resources available at Northeastern for students in the Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project.
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017 URL: http://lawlibraryguides.neu.edu/CRRJ Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Images

Freedom House Project (selected)

All of the images in this digital collection were selected from the Freedom House records held in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Deparment. They represent roughly one quarter of the images available in the Freedom House records. The images were selected because they date from 1950-1975 and document one of three important themes:

  1. early activities to create an integrated Roxbury;
  2. citizen participation in the urban renewal of Roxbury; and
  3. early oversight of Boston Public Schools desegregation.
 

Obituraries

ProQuest Obituaries (1851-Current) 

This database offers more than 10.5 million obituaries and death notices in full-image format from uninterrupted historical archives of top newspapers. The interface allows "users to search by name, date, and keyword with additional wildcard searching for name variations."

 

Searching for Books & Guides

Searching Books

  • WorldCat is a union catalog which itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries

Guides

 

Introduction

The resources listed here are only available to Northeastern students, wtih the students at the Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project specifically in mind.

Any questions, please feel to e-mail me at s.akehurstmoore@neu.edu.

 

Multi-Format Resources

Ethnic NewsWatch

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People."

American Periodicals Series Online

This database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. The journals in this collection cover three broad periods: (1740-1800), (1800-1860) and (1860-1900, including the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877)).

 

Books

Both Snell and the Law Library has a wide range of books on Afro-American history. I have pulled out only a couple.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism - Angela Doolin (Editor)
Call Number: E184.A1 E584 2013
ISBN: 9780028661742
Publication Date: 2013-02-08

Cover Art
The Harvard Guide to African-American History - Clayborne Carson (Contribution by); Thomas Cripps (Contribution by); James P. Danky (Contribution by); Eric Foner (Contribution by); Henry Louis Gates (Contribution by); John Gennari (Contribution by); Marya McQuirtir (Contribution by); Elinor Des Verney
Call Number: Snell Library Stacks (E185 .H326 2001 )
ISBN: 0674002768

Cover Art
Bibliography of African American Leadership - Ronald W. Walters; Cedric Johnson
Call Number: Snell E185.61 .W19 2000
ISBN: 0313313148
Publication Date: 2000-06-30

Cover Art
The African-American Male - Jacob U. Gordon
Call Number: Snell E185.86.N39 G67 1999
ISBN: 0313306567
Publication Date: 1999-07-30

Subject Guide

 

NAACP Papers

NAACP Papers [on campus]

NAACP Papers [off-campus - myNEU ID and PW required)

All of the NAACP papers are fully searchable and downloadable.

The Library of Congress has a great finding aide with detailed listing of all the paper Parts and Sub-Parts (this can be helpful as the NAACP Papers above is organized in part by topical module).

 

Theses & Dissertations

There may be some great information in Theses & Dissertations. Most North American and some European ones are available here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip