Lexis Online Study Aids
For more information about Legal Study Aids available through Lexis Digital Library, visit our Remote Library Services guide.
Quick Links
Scholar One Search Library catalog
Law Research Databases NU login credentials or passwords may be necessary
Map of the Law Library
Lexis Access restrictions apply
Westlaw Access restrictions apply
Bloomberg Law Access restrictions apply
Acknowledgment
Thank you to Liza Rosenof (Legal reference intern, 2013) for her work on the initial version of this guide.
Research Guides
- Handbook of Legal Research in Massachusetts byCall Number: KFM2475 .H36 2009 LAW STACKSISBN: 1575895358
One of the best ways to find out about the particular sources of law in a state is to consult a print research guide published for that state. Check ScholarOneSearch for titles (Tip: Do a subject search for Legal Research -- [name of state])
Here are some examples:
- The Connecticut Legal Research Handbook byCall Number: KFC3675.C6 C66 1992 LAW STACKS
- Gibson's New York Legal Research Guide byCall Number: KFN5074 .G53 2014 LAW STACKSISBN: 9780837739755
Legal Encyclopedias
Many states have a legal encyclopedia. You can usually recognize them by their titles: most contain the terms "jurisprudence" or "practice", such as New York Jurisprudence or Massachusetts Practice.
Legal encyclopedias are available in print, on Westlaw or Lexis, or both. You can find these by searching ScholarOneSearch (to limit your search to print, select "Law Library Catalog" from the drop-down menu next to the search bar), or by consulting Westlaw or Lexis directly.
On WestlawNext: from the main page, go to Browse Sources > State Materials. Select your state, then go to Secondary Sources > All Texts & Treatises.
On LexisAdvance: from the main page, go to Explore Content > State. Select your state, then go to Secondary Sources > All Treatises, Practice Guides and Jurisprudence.
General Sources
- The Library of Congress: State Government InformationContains links to government-run websites in each of the fifty states.
The links below are good places to start for general research on state laws across the country.
- The Library of Congress: State LegislaturesThis provides links to all fifty state legislatures' websites.
- National Center for State CourtsContains a wealth of information on state courts, including access to court rules, statistics, and comparative data.
- National Council of State LegislaturesNCSL is a bipartisan organization representing the interests of state legislators. Their website contains a number of reports on issues and trends among states.
- State Agency DatabasesThis is a regularly updated compilation of searchable state agency databases.
- Uniform Law ComissionThe Uniform Law Commission drafts model legislation that clarifies and unifies particular areas of law. The website contains a list of all their legislation, as well as a list of which states have enacted them.
- Social Law LibraryThe Social Law Library maintains this site with links to agencies, legislation, and judicial information for all fifty states.
Senior Law Librarian: Reference Services
Get Help
Reference Librarians are available to help you with your research questions.
3rd Floor Law Library at Info Desk