• United Nations Treaty Collection
– United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) Online Collection
• The texts of over 158,000 records of bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent treaty actions in their authentic language (s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate.
– League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) Online Collection
• The texts of treaties and records of subsequent treaty actions published in 205 volumes of the League of Nations Treaty Series.
– Certified True Copies (CTCs) of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
• Avalon Project
– http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
• Includes old, historically important treaties including Treaty of Westphalia, 1648. You can browse by years and popular names.
• Fletcher School Multilaterals Project
– https://wayback.archive-it.org/1646/20091102204220/http:/fletcher.tufts.edu/multilaterals/#
– The collection today also includes treaties in the fields of human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas.
• ECOLEX
– ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP; containing treaties as well as other documents.
• Websites of International Organizations!
Websites of international organizations are important sources to find treaties. They provide the full text of treaties relating to the purpose of the organizations and the treaties concluded within the Organization.
– Council of Europe's Official Treaty Office: European Treaty Series (ETS, 1949-2003), Council of Europe Treaty Series (CETS, 2004 -)
• Use the 'Full List' tab to search for the full text of a treaty, information on status, declarations and reservations of individual countries, and its explanatory report. The Council of Europe Treaty Series groups together all the conventions concluded within the Organization since 1949.
– The Organization of American States (OAS) Treaty Series (Washington, D.C.: General Secretariat, Organization of American States)
• http://www.oas.org/DIL/treaties_and_agreements.htm
• Separate search for multilateral treaties and bilateral agreements is available.
– World Trade Organization (WTO): WTO legal texts
• http://www.wto.org/english/docs_e/legal_e/legal_e.htm
– International Law Commission (ILC)
• http://untreaty.un.org/ilc/texts/texts.htm
– Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO): Legal Office
• https://www.fao.org/treaties/en/
– United Nations High Commissioner on Human Rights (UNHCHR)
• http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/treaty/index.htm
– United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea
• http://www.un.org/Depts/los/index.htm
– International Labor Organization (ILO): NORMLEX
NORMLEX is a new information system which brings together information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws.
• https://www.ilo.org/dyn/normlex/en/f?p=NORMLEXPUB:1:0::NO:::
– World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
• http://www.wipo.int/treaties/en/
– International Court of Justice (ICJ)
• HeinOnline
– The United Nations Law Collection library compiled UN treaty texts and indexes under Treaty Publications. This includes League of Nations Treaty Series, United Nations Treaty Series, Indexes to UNTs, Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.
• Lexis
– U.S. Treaties on Lexis - a unique electronic compilation of full-text ratified and unratified treaties and international agreements, where the United States is a party or signatory
– International Legal Materials (1962-) - treaties can be found under individual countries
– TAX and TRADE are most of it!
• Westlaw:
– CMB-TREATIES: Combined Treaties
Multi-National Administrative Materials
INTLENVL International Environmental Law Documents
EU-TREATIES European Union Treaties
RIA-TREATIES RIA International Tax Treaties and Explanations
ILM International Legal Materials (1980-)
• International Legal Materials (ILM):
– Also available on Lexis (1962-current), Westlaw (1980-current), and HeinOnline (1962-2009).
• Consolidated Treaty Series (CTS)
– Covers treaties from 1648 to 1919.
– Law Stacks, KZ120. P35 1969.