Skip to main content

Immigration Law: Introduction

After the creation of the Department of Homeland Security in 2003 after the September 11 attacks, the enforcement of immigration laws was transferred from the Immigration and Naturalization Service(INS) to the Department of Homeland Security.

Subject Guide

Law Research Help's picture
Law Research Help
Contact:
Info Desk - 3rd floor Knowles
(617) 373-3332

Get Help

Reference Librarians are available to help you with your research questions.

Map of the Law Library

HOURS:  Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm

E-MAIL US:

lawresearchhelp@neu.edu

Library Catalogs:

Immigration Sources

Databases

Legal Research

Access restrictions apply.

Law Research Databases are organized collections of computerized information or data such as periodical articles, books, graphics and multimedia that can be searched to retrieve information. Of particular relevance to immigration law include the following:

ALIA Link Provides access to statutes, regulations, cases, AILA publications, and nearly 200 immigration forms.
Immigration (Records of the INS, 1880-1930)

Comprises investigations made by INS during massive immigration wave at turn of 20th C (e.g. Asia [Japan/China], 1906-1930 Mexico, and Europe). Also includes INS' regulation of prostitution, white slavery, and radical aliens.

Bureau of Justice Statistics US DOJ information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes Report: Immigration, Citizenship, and the Federal Justice System, 1998-2018.
GovSearch The most comprehensive and up-to-date government contact information available on the Internet. GovSearch has +700,000 points of contact from the local, county, state, and federal levels.
NAACP Papers Under Browse -> Browse Collections -> By module -> American Politics & Society -> Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 includes extensive archival materials on immigration history
ProQuest Congressional Includes Bills, Hearings, House and Senate Reports - including House Homeland Security Committee

Northeastern Snell Library also subscribes to other research databasesOf particular relevance to immigration law include the following:

Homeland Security Digital Library

Featured Topics -> Immigration

Includes Data & Statistics, Government Reports, Hearings & Testimony, Plans & Strategies, and Websites.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Includes eBook Immigration and Migration: In Context. Key data on global immigration, and social, political, and cultural factors that impact, and are affected by, immigration and human migration. Includes topics such as undocumented immigration/unauthorized residents, asylum seekers, refugees, and the refugee crisis in Europe.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service News Feeds

USCIS logo

This RSS Feed provides the USCIS' latest news and updates, such as Forms Updates; USCIS Class Action, Settlement Notices and Agreements; USCIS Federal Register Announcements, Policy Memoranda, News Releases, and Alerts.

Loading ...

US Immigration and Customs Enforcement Feeds (MA)

ICE logo

ICE enforces +400 federal statutes on cross-border crime and illegal immigration that threaten national security and public safety. More specifically, it focuses on immigration enforcement, preventing terrorism and combating the illegal movement of people and goods.

Loading ...

Acknowledgements

This guide was created by Jootaek "Juice" Lee, Senior Law Librarian 2012-2018, and has been modified by Senior Law Librarians Catherine Biondo, Elliott Hibbler and Alfreda Russell.