Skip to main content

Law, History and Genealogy: Home

Newspapers

Legislative History

Social/Cultural/Political/Economic History

Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930

Comprises investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the twentieth century. The module covers Asian immigration especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens. By license agreement, this resource is available to all Northeastern University students, faculty and staff. [Law Library]

American State Papers

Legislative and executive documents from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. By license agreement, this resource is available to all Northeastern University students, faculty and staff. [Snell Library]

Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights

Drawn from the extensive holdings of the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, the Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections tells the story of the women and voting rights and reproductive rights at national, regional and local levels. By license agreement, this resource is available to all Northeastern University students, faculty and staff. [Law Library]

Congress and the Courts

This library, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. [Law Library]

Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990: Organizational Records

The Struggle for Women’s Rights contains: the National Woman’s Party Papers that document the militant aspect of the suffrage campaign in the United States from 1913–1920, as well as the Party’s activities from 1921–1971; the central organizational records of the League of Women Voters from its formal inception in 1920 through 1974 as well as the National Office Subject Files for the period from 1920–1932; and the papers of the Women’s Action Alliance. By license agreement, this resource is available to all Northeastern University students, faculty and staff. [Law Library]

NAACP Papers 

Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (Parts 1-30)- divided into topical modules. The database is full-text searchable and features downloadable PDF's. By license agreement, this resource is available to all Northeastern University students, faculty, and staff. [Law Library]

Taxation & Economic Reform in America: A Historical Archive, 1781-2009

This historical archive contains thousands of volumes and millions of pages of legislative history materials and other documents. It includes the complete Carlton Fox Collection which contains nearly 42 years of historical legislation related to the internal revenue laws from 1909-1950. It includes more than 100 other legislative histories related to taxation, economic reform, and stimulus plans. [Law Library]

Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920

Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century. [Snell Library]

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, with digital facsimile page images. [Snell Library]

Cambridge Histories Online

Completely searchable full text of the 247 volumes in the Cambridge Histories series. [Snell Library]

American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate

An exceptional compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues of the challenging times chronicled span women's rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials. Kennedy files include documents from the 1960 presidential campaign and cover the major issues of the Kennedy presidency including women's rights, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, and international trade. [Snell Library]

American Presidential Campaigns and Elections

The core content of this work reviews and analyzes the process by which aspirants to the American presidency have campaigned for the support of the national electorate and how voters have made their selections from 1789 to the present day.  Content includes primary documents, images, chronologies, and state-by-state analysis of election results. [Snell Library]

Women and the Law (Peggy)

Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender. [Law Library]

Colonial America

Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. [Snell Library]

 Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Due to the long-unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history. [Snell Library]

 

Historical Legal Documents & Writing

Law Journal Library (provides access to hundreds of law journals from their inception in full pdf) [Law Library]

Code of Federal Regulations (full text of the CFR from 1938-present, including supplement volumes) [Law Library]

Federal Register Library

The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965). [Law Library]

Legal Classics

Includes thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. [Law Library]

Selden Society and History of English Law (early English manuscripts, digests, encyclopedias, and more) [Law Library]

World Trials

This collection includes thousands of trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history. [Law Library]

Get Help

Reference Librarians are available to help you with your research questions

3rd Floor Law Library at the Infodesk

Hours:

Infodesk, Staff & Research Assistance

Monday -Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm

Tel: (617) 373-3332