This is the "Home" page of the "Reproductive Rights " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reproductive Rights  

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017 URL: http://lawlibraryguides.neu.edu/reproductiverights Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Northeastern Reproductive Rights Specific Databases

Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights

Drawn from the extensive holdings of the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, the Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections tells the story of the women and voting rights and reproductive rights at national, regional and local levels.

The Struggle for Women’s Rights, 1880–1990: Organizational Records

The Struggle for Women’s Rights contains: the National Woman’s Party Papers that document the militant aspect of the suffrage campaign in the United States from 1913–1920, as well as the Party’s activities from 1921–1971; the central organizational records of the League of Women Voters from its formal inception in 1920 through 1974 as well as the National Office Subject Files for the period from 1920–1932; and the papers of the Women’s Action Alliance.

Genderwatch  Full text articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's. You can browse a list of subjects or search by key words.

 

Other Handy Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, the majority in full text. Includes the New York Times backfile from 1995 to present. Interdisciplinary.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles covering all academic subjects.

Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  For comprehensive searching across scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. What's unique about this database is that the results include not only the article abstract but also the number of times an article was cited by other authors. This helps you to discover the research impact of a particular article, journal, author, or team of researchers. 1975 to the present.

 

Searching Our Collection

Scholar One Search is the university's discovery portal.

What does that mean? 

The portal allows a user to search for any information, be it physical or electronic, that the university library system possesses or is licensed for. You can then limit by type, publication date, etc. Think google for information that Northeastern possesses.

For example - you can search for article titles, book titles, serial titles, etc.

Other notes: if you find some items, books or article on point - use the Scholar One Search system to find similiar titles. You can use Subject Headings, by author, or publication, for example.

 

Websites/Other Organizations

ACLU

ACLU has a great site on reproductive freedom.

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals

Good information on medical background to reproductive issues.

WomenWatch (U.N.)

Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women (U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights)

International Women's Rights Action Watch

Women in International Law: Research Resources

Center for Reproductive Rights (This site has many resources on reproductive rights, health education, domestic violence, and useful shadow reports on many countries)

Commission on the Status of Women

Female Genital Cutting Education and Networking Project

 

Selected Titles

Cover Art
Assisted Reproductive Technology - Charles P. Kindregan; Maureen McBrien
Call Number: KF3771 .L56 2012
ISBN: 9781616320935
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Abortion under State Constitutions - Paul Benjamin Linton
Call Number: KF3771 .L56 2012
ISBN: 9781611630695
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Fit to Be Tied - Rebecca M. Kluchin
Call Number: HQ766.5.U5 K55 2009
ISBN: 9780813545271
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Our Bodies, Our Crimes - Jeanne Flavin
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 F532 2009
ISBN: 9780814727546
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
The World's Women 2010 - United Nations; United Nations: Department of Economic and Social Affairs
Call Number: HQ1154 .W95 2010
ISBN: 9789211615395
Publication Date: 2010 (published every 5 years)
Or free Open-Access here: http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/Worldswomen/WW2010pub.htm

Subject Guide

 

Other Guides

Statistics on Women and Gender: Where and How to Find (from U. of Wisc.-Madison) (great resource)

International Gender and Women's Studies Topics (from U. of Wisc.-Madison) (great resource)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip