Bloomberg BNA: ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
- ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct is well known among the nation's lawyers as the most authoritative source for news and guidance on virtually every aspect of attorney conduct and legal ethics. The Manual is organized into four main sections: The Practice Guides, Ethics Rules, Current Reports, and Ethics Opinions. All these collections plus their associated indexes and other quick reference tools and finding aids combined make up the content of the ABA/BNA Lawyers’ Manual on Professional Conduct.
- Tools to speed your research in the online Manual include the main search bar near the top of the screen (and an ability to save your queries), and the ability to efficiently browse categories within different collections to get to the information you need.
- Available to Northeastern University School of Law students at: http://lawyersmanual.bna.com.ezproxy.neu.edu/mopw2/
LexisNexis includes ethics cases, statues, rules, legal ethics opinions, current awareness resources, treatises including ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct and Restatement of the Law - The Law Governing Lawyers, Legal ethics articles, etc. The following is the selective databases contained in Lexis:
- ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct and Code of Judicial Conduct
- COVERAGE: For the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, through August 2003 amendments. For the Model Code of Judicial Conduct, through February 2007 amendments, February 2009 and August 2009.
- ABA Formal Ethics Opinions
- The formal opinions file contains the formal opinions of the American Bar Association Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility.
- Ethics opinions construe the Model Rules of Professional Responsibility (prior to 1983, they construed the Model Code). They are not binding on any court or disciplinary body, but are considered highly persuasive authority.
- From January 1924 through current.
- ABA Informal Ethics Opinions
- From 1959 through current.
- ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
- From February 4, 1998, Vol. 14, Issue No. 1, to current.
- Restricted in academic version.
- National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility
- Not updated.
- Published by University Publications of America and located in Bethesda, Maryland. This provides selected state bar formal and informal opinions on legal ethics and professional responsibility.
- While the National Reporter publishes approximately 10 installments per year, not every state covered is updated each year. Also, please note that even the most recent National Reporter updates may not have current year decisions, it is whatever is provided by the state at that time, and that may be decisions from the current year, or years past.
- States covered by the National Reporter are: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, New York, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Virginia
Westlaw includes cases, statutes, administrative materials, state cases, state rules of conduct, disciplinary decisions of Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Massachusetts, New York, Texas, Virginia and Washington, ethics opinions of ABA, ethics opinions of about 20 state bars and committees (not MA), law review and journal articles, ABA materials, forms, CLEs and other practice material, and treatises including Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, and ABA-BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct.
ABA Annotated Rules of Professional Conduct