Lexis Online Study Aids
For more information about Legal Study Aids available through Lexis Digital Library, visit our Remote Library Services guide.
Getting Started
-
Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell
by
Call Number: KF3821.Z9 H35 2011ISBN: 9781684676422Publication Date: 2020-02-24 -
Mental Health and Disability in a Nutshell
by
Call Number: KF3828.Z9 H47 1997ISBN: 0314065466Publication Date: 1997-01-16 -
-
Public Health Law Research
by
Call Number: KF3821 .P82 2013ISBN: 9781118420881Publication Date: 2013-05-08 -
Treatise on Health Care Law [electronic resource] - Michael G. Macdonald
LexisNexis login and password required. -
Health Care Law Sourcebook [electronic resource] - Compiled by Foley, Lardner, Weissburg & Aronson.
LexisNexis login and password required.
Introduction to Health Law
Health law in the United States is created at both the federal and state level through statutes, regulations, executive orders, and case law. Federal and state administrative agencies play a key role in developing and delivering health care services. Health law incorporates many areas of law including administrative, taxation, insurance, contracts and torts.
Navigating health law is complex, and can be challenging for researchers. It might be useful to begin with secondary sources which will provide background information and serve as a guide to the most relevant cases, statutes and regulations.
Typical sub-areas of Health Law include:
- Bioethics
- Cannabis
- Global Health
- History of Medicine
- Hospital Law
- Insurance
- Medical Device Law & Industry
- Medical Malpractice
- Medicare/Medicaid
- Pharmaceutical Law & Industry
- Public Health Care Policy
- Public Health Care Reform
Westlaw Resources
-
Westlaw Health Law Directory Page (Practitioner Insights for Health)This is the main directory for all health databases in Westlaw. Coverage includes primary law, treatises, law journals, news sources, notification services, forms, and other practice materials. From this directory listing, click on individual databases, read the information buttons describing their coverage, and conduct searches. Combined databases are also available.
-
Health Law HandbookThis handbook contains current information from health law professionals on physician issues, hospital issues, fraud and abuse, and managed care.
-
Health Law Secondary SourcesA compilation of secondary sources on health law available through Westlaw including texts and treatises, law reviews and journals, forms, state surveys and newsletters.
-
AHLA Seminar PapersPublications by the American Health Lawyers Association
-
Health Policy Tracking ServiceWestlaw provides many topical databases designed to keep practitioners informed of news and events in the health care field.
Lexis Advance Resources
-
Health Care DirectoryThis is the practice page for health law in LexisNexis. Coverage includes key health topics, top sources, legislation and public records.
-
Inside CMSA LexisNexis biweekly newsletter offering news and analysis of regulatory, legislative and legal developments affecting Medicare and Medicaid.
Bloomberg Resources
-
Health Law and Business NewsArticles on recent developments in health law topics, including coverage of state and federal health law-related cases.
-
Health Practice PageThis practice page features resources related to health law including law journals, treatises and books.
Subject Guide
The 2010 Patient Protection & Affordable Care Act
-
Law, Explanation and Analysis of the Affordable Care Act, 2014 Update
by
Call Number: KF1183.A328201 A2 2014ISBN: 9780808039570 -
The Affordable Care Act Decision
by
Call Number: KF3605.A328 A2 2014ISBN: 9781315885124Publication Date: 2014-02-18 -
Health Care Reform: a Legislative History of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public Law No., 111-148 (2010)
by
Call Number: KF3605.A328201 A15 2011
-
2010 tax legislation: Patient Protection and Affordable Care; Health Care Reconciliation; HIRE and Other Recent Tax Act
by
Call Number: KF6276.6201 .A2 2010
-
Health Care Reform Special Alert
by
Call Number: KF1183.A328201 A2 2010Publication Date: 2010-01-01
