Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Apps for Lawyers: Research

Research

Bloomberg, your premier source for business and finance news, has an app available on iPhone and iPad, and Android.
Bloomberg Law Reports gives subscribers full access to BNA Law Reports, which provide primary and secondary legal resources for a number of major practice areas, including health care, litigation, and tax. Available on iPhone and iPad.
Oyez is a useful resource for Supreme Court cases. It includes audio transcripts and detailed information on Supreme Court justices. Available on iPhone and iPad.
CCH Mobile allows users to access CCH's most popular content, including IntelliConnect, Tracker News, and Smart Charts. Available on iPhone, iPad, and Android devices. To get started, consult CCH's Quick Start Guide (PDF).
All titles of the Code of Federal Regulations are available on iPhone and iPad through Tekk Innovations, downloadable as separate apps. $ (For the CFR on Android devices, check out Droid Law, below.)
This Congressional Record app allows you to read the debates, proceedings, and activities of Congress. You can also browse daily editions as far back as 1995, perform keyword searches, save PDFs, and share with e-mail. Available on iPhone and iPad.
This Constitution app provides an elegant and easy-to read version of the supreme law of the US, including notes on its history and amendments. Available for iPad.
This Constitution of the U.S.A. includes full text of the Constitution and all 85 Federalist papers. Available for iPhone and iPad.
A free Declaration of Independence app is now available for the iPad. It comes with texts, notes, and images of original documents. 
This Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure app allows for full-text searching and complete off-line access. Available on iPhone and iPad.
This Federal Rules of Civil Procedure app allows for full-text searching and complete off-line access. Available on iPhone and iPad.
This Federal Rules of Evidence app allows for full-text searching and complete off-line access. Available on iPhone and iPad.
The General Laws of Massachusetts are now fully accessible from your iPhone and iPad. With this app, you can browse or search the full lot of them. $
The General Laws of Massachusetts are also available in a separate app on Android devices. $
Fastcase is a powerful alternative to using Westlaw or Lexis if you don't currently have a subscription. Fastcase allows you to search federal laws as well as primary laws from every state. Content can be pulled with a citation or full-text searching (natural language and Boolean). The app requires that you register, but it's free. Available on iPhone, iPad and Android devices.
HeinOnline now offers an app for iPhone and iPad users. Like its website, you can retrieve by citation, browse by volume, and use advanced search techniques, among other features.
Law Stacks is a handy research tool that comes preloaded with the US Constitution, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, and Federal Rules of Evidence. Other federal and state laws are available for purchase, including Massachusetts laws. Publications are fully searchable and browsable. Available on iPad and iPhone.
Lexis offers a variety of mobile apps. Visit its mobile site here to find free downloads for Lexis Advance (iPad and iPhone only), Courtlink (iPhone, iPad and Android), and Lexis Get Cases & Shepardize (iPhone only).
Massachusetts Penal Codes are a good option if you are only concerned with laws concerning criminal conduct. Available iPhone and iPad. $
​US Laws, State Law Library covers all 50 state laws in one app. Available for iPhone and iPad.
Rulebook allows you to download court rules and other legal authorities for quick reference. Most importantly, perhaps, is that Rulebook has been designated as the exclusive mobile publishing platform for the Bluebook, which can be purchased separately. Available for download on iPad and iPhone.
Legal Dictionary provides pronunciation and definitions of over 58,000 legal terms. Available on iPhone or iPad.
This Westlaw app allows you to take advantage of WestlawNext's search engine capabilities on your iPad or Android.
BrowZine is an app that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library’s scholarly journals on your iOS or Android device. You can export articles from the app to RefWorks and Dropbox to help keep all of your information together in one place. When you download the app, choose Northeastern University as your institution, and log in using your myNEU credentials.

Legend

Free
Priced $
Subscription
required