Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Apps for Lawyers: Reference

Reference

Black's Law law dictionary is now available as a mobile app for the iPhone, though it comes at a somewhat hefty price. This is a good alternative if you don't have access to Black's through another database, or if you don't wan to use up your data plan. Available for iPhone, iPad, Android devices, and Windows phone. $
The International Diplomacy and World Facts app includes the United Nations charter, the Universal Declaration for Human Rights, the Geneva Conventions, various nuclear non-proliferation treaties, and the Camp David Accords, as well as informative lists on foreign governments regarding alliances, treaties, and embassy information. Available on iPhone and iPad. $
The Law Guide provides you with an off-line legal dictionary, as well as directory of lawyers and over 30 sections of the New York Code of Law. Available on iPhone, iPad, and Android devices.
Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary is a free alternative to other legal dictionaries. Written with the non-professional in mind, it contains easy-to-understand definitions for common legal terms. Available on iPhone and iPad and Android devices.
Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary is a less expensive and popular alternative to Black's Law. Available on iPhone and iPad. $
The World Factbook contains the CIA World Factbook in its entirety, including information on over 250 countries. All content is available offline and is updated monthly. Available for iPhone and iPad. $
Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary is another less expensive alternative to Black's Law. Download a free version to try out before upgrading. Available on iPhone, iPad and Android devices. $

Legend

Free
Priced $
Subscription
required