Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access law library subscription databases (http://www.northeastern.edu/law/library/databases.html#a) through the law library page.
- Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (Parry and Grant)
- A starting point for international legal terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. Completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries provide the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
- This is the premier comprehensive encyclopedia covering the entirety of public international law. Topics include history of public international law, as well as areas such as international criminal law, human rights, international economic law, and environmental law. This online resource includes more than 1700 topics written by international law scholars.
- Oxford Reports on International Law
- Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) is a database for all international law jurisprudence, providing researchers access to the widest possible range of international law jurisprudence. ORIL draws upon the expertise of leading scholars and local experts to provide high quality, timely, reports, analysis, and translations where available. Below is a list of the reports available: ;
- International Courts of General Jurisdiction
- International Human Rights Law
- International Law in Domestic Courts
- Hein Online provides full access to complete runs of more than 1700 law journals. It also includes the Federal Register, treaties and related publications, U.S. Supreme Court materials, and U.S Attorney General Opinions. The following is the databases relating to this topic:
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database (Human Rights and International Law Yearbooks, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, U.S. Law Digests, and more)
- Treaties and Agreements Library (database has more than 18,000 records of treaties and agreements)
- United Nations Law Collection (major UN legal publications, and the complete collection of the UN Treaty Series)
- World Constitutions Illustrated (constitutions for 193 countries and other sources on constitutional law)
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Library (A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays. )
- Law Journal Library (provides access to hundreds of law journals from their inception in full pdf)
- Foreign Law Guide
- This database is designed to locate primary sources of legislation for foreign jurisdictions. It provides a brief introduction to the legal systems of each country, a list of codifications, gazettes and other sources of law. Also, it identifies any available English translations. Searchable by country, subject, or keyword.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
- CIAO includes working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals and policy briefs dealing with international relations.