Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Consumer Protection: Subject Specific

Periodicals

ARTICLES

To find law journal and law review articles on consumer protection, use one of the following tools available via a link from the Law Library's Research Databases page:

  • Current Index to Legal Periodicals
  • Index to Legal Periodicals
  • LegalTrac
  • HeinOnline's Law Journal Library

 

HeinOnline, Lexis and Westlaw have selective full-text coverage of law review and law journal articles.

Beyond law journals and law reviews, interdisciplinary publications offer extensive coverage of health sciences, finance, history and other subjects as they relate to consumer protection. Check out the following databases for example, all available from Snell Library's A-Z List of Research Databases:

  • JSTOR
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
  • Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage)

 

Additionally, you can use Northeastern's online catalog, Scholar OneSearch, to locate articles.  Just search within "Library Catalogs + Articles". Examples of subject headings to search appear in the column on the left.

NEWSPAPERS

Various newspapers are available electronically through Northeastern's library databases.  To see the titles available, with their ranges of coverage, visit Scholar One Search and search E-Journal Finder.  The law school also has print copies of The Boston Globe, The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal (retention: current two weeks only).

Subject Headings

To locate subject-specific books and articles on consumer protection in ScholarOneSearch, try a SUBJECT search using one of these Library of Congress subject headings:

TOBACCO

Nicotine
Tobacco
Cigarettes
E-cigarettes
Electronic cigarettes -- control
Addiction
Harm reduction
Tobacco harm reduction
Tobacco Industry -- Laws, regulations and rules
Personal health
FDA regulation

FINANCE

Consumer credit -- Law and legislation
Trade Regulation
Banking Law
Financial Disclosure
Debtor and creditor -- Massachusetts

PRODUCT SAFETY

Products liability -- United States
Warranty -- United States
Commercial products -- testing

MARKETING / ADVERTISING

Advertisements
Advertising
Consumers -- Marketing
Consumer Protection -- Marketing
Telemarketing -- Corrupt practices

FOOD / NUTRITION

Eating habits
Consumer behavior
Food standards
Nutrition
Obesity
Food adulteration and inspection
United States. Food and Drug Administration