Debt Collection - Massachusetts - Consumer Protection - LibGuides at Northeastern University School of Law

Web Resources

Substantive Defenses to Consumer Debt Collection Suits
"Extensive materials from a training on defending debt collection suits. Topics covered include: Interviewing clients and evaluating cases, Collection case procedures in district court, Supplementary process." Includes "an overview of the law as well as forms and sample pleadings."
MassLegalHelp Guide to Debt
Covers the process for being sued for debt and consumer rights
How to Protect Your Clients' Cash and Assets under New Massachusetts Personal Property Exemptions
A 2011 article from the National Consumer Law Center that explains changes in exempt property law with examples illustrating when rights should be asserted and relevant laws
The Attorney General's Guide to Fair Debt Collection
A brief guide outlining your rights under fair debt collection laws

Statutes

MGL c. 93, s. 24
- Definitions
MGL c. 93, s. 49
- Outlines activities that are prohibited in debt collection
MGL c.235, s.34
- Property exempt from seizure by debt collectors
15 U.S.C. §§ 1692
- The primary federal law governing consumers' rights in debt collection

Regulations

Case Law

Schaefer v. ARM Receivable Management, Inc. , (US Dist. Ct. Mass., July 19, 2011)
- A debt collector does not have to tell a debtor that interest may accrue. A debt collector can continue to contact a debtor to seek "voluntary repayment of a time-barred debt."