ScotTissue Mask Ad, 1945
From: Medicine and Madison Avenue Collection, Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, Duke University
Contains health-related advertisements and historical documents collected between 1911 and 1958.
Books
The Cambridge History of Medicine by Call Number: Snell Remote Annex R131 .C358 2006ISBN: 0521864267Publication Date: 2006-06-05
Seeking the Cure by Call Number: Snell Remote Annex R151 .R78 2010ISBN: 9781416538288Publication Date: 2010-04-13
A Short History of Medicine by Call Number: Snell Remote Annex R133 .G658 2007ISBN: 9780679643432Publication Date: 2007-11-06
To Improve Human Health by Call Number: Law Library Stacks RA11 .B47 1998 or E-Book available onlineISBN: 0309061881Publication Date: 1999-01-22
The Progress of Experiment by Call Number: Law Library Stacks RM47.U6 M37 1997ISBN: 0521581427Publication Date: 1997-04-13
More Than Medicine by Call Number: Law Library Stacks RA564.85 .N44 2015ISBN: 9780814762776Publication Date: 2015-03-06
Databases
- IndexCatIndexCat, the online version of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army (61 volumes in 5 series, 1880-1961), is a comprehensive subject catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, reports, and journal articles published from the 17th-20th century and held by National Library of Medicine
- PubMedThis is a link to the PubMed "history of medicine" subset.
- JSTORUse the "Browse" feature at the top of the page to limit your search by topic. You can use "History of Science and Technology" or more specific browse terms.
- Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicineAn important resource for studying the history of medicine.
Journals
- JSTOR journals in the history of medicineSeveral full text core journals in the history of science and medicine.
Online Resources
- Directory of History of Medicine CollectionsThis directory gives links to websites for various collections. Many websites contain links to online catalogs or other discovery tools for the collections of each organization.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain. Works in nearly every subject, including medicine. Includes many works in full text (published before 1923).
- National Library of Medicine ImagesMore than 70,000 images from the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine. Spans 15th to 21st century.
- National Library of Medicine Moving ImagesNational Library of Medicine's collection of more than 100 videos about public health issues and innovations during the 20th century.
- National Library of Medicine Oral History CollectionThis National Library of Medicine collection from the 1960's to present features interview with physicians, scientists, medical librarians, government administrators, and health-business executives on a variety of topics related to medicine and health sciences. Many included searchable transcripts.
Archival Collections
- Harvard's Countway Library of MedicineA great local resource, as the library has holdings related to virtually every topic in medical history.
- Archive of Ritual, Healing, and TransformationIndex to the UCLA Archive of American Folk Medicine which documents beliefs and practices relating to folk medicine and alternative healthcare.
Subject Guide
History of Medicine Lecture Series
- C.F. Reynolds Medical History Society LecturesThe University of Pittsburgh’s site hosts more than two-dozen videos featuring past speakers from the C. F. Reynolds Medical History Society’s annual lecture series. The lectures cover a broad range of subjects, including the history of cystic fibrosis, eugenics, and medieval medicine.
- Oregon Health & Science University Lecture SeriesMore than 30 videos covering a wide range of subjects; particularly good resource for lectures on the history of medicine in the Pacific Northwest.