LLNE Fall 2023 Meeting: The Fog of War

Jennifer Allison is the principal of Manuscript Spa, which provides research, editing, citation, formatting, and indexing support to authors of scholarly books and articles in preparation for publication, and has more than twenty years of experience as a technical writer and academic law librarian. Most recently, she served as a librarian for Foreign, Comparative, and International Law at the Harvard Law School Library from 2012-2022. From 2017-2018, she taught Legal English and substantive U.S. law classes at the law faculty of the University of Würzburg in Germany, where she also earned an LL.M. in German law.  She returns to Germany to teach at the law faculty as visiting lecturer twice a year. She holds an M.L.I.S. from San Jose State University (2010), a J.D. from Pepperdine Law School, where she also worked as a law librarian, and a B.A. in English and German from Pacific Lutheran University. Before beginning her legal career, she held a Fulbright Scholarship as an English teaching assistant in Germany for a year and worked as a technical writer in the software industry.

Tom leads vLex's strategic initiatives in North America, driving growth and fostering solutions that empower legal professionals. Tom works directly with vLex’s customer base across both the US and Canada to help improve the content and the legal technology being provided, with a current focus on AI and technology-driven advancements. Tom has over 15 years of commercial experience gained in the UK, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and North America, predominantly focused on the legal research & technology sector as well as working with AI and Cloud technologies in Financial Services.

Mia Bonardi is an advisor to the Global Accountability Network’s (GAN) Ukraine Accountability Project (UAP) and previously served as executive director. The UAP is based at Suffolk University Law School and, in collaboration with the Ukrainian Bar Association, documents war crimes and international humanitarian law violations in Ukraine. GAN is a collective of specific atrocity projects supervised by international criminal prosecutors and practitioners. 

In addition to her volunteer role as UAP’s advisor, Mia works as the Director of Operations at Lemma Legal, a small legal technology consulting company with a focus on form automation for self-represented litigants. Mia has published several articles at the intersection of various topics, including: international legal theory, human rights, international humanitarian law, international affairs, international criminal jurisdiction, and space law. Mia holds a JD from Suffolk University Law School (2022) and BA in English and History from Northeastern University (2019).

Stephen Cody is a former human rights investigator and criminal prosecutor. His scholarship uses sociological theory and methods to understand international criminal prosecutions, threats to democracy, and ocean governance. Before coming to Suffolk Law, Professor Cody was a research director at Berkeley Law’s Human Rights Center. He earned his J.D. and his Ph.D. in sociology from the University of California, Berkeley. 

Susan Goard has served as Law Librarian and Training Coordinator for the Dag Hammarskjöld Library at the United Nations for ten years. Prior to this position, she held positions as Head of Library Assessment and E-Access at the Supreme Court of Canada, Associate Library Officer at the International Criminal Court, Manager of Collections and Access at the Supreme Court of Canada Library, and Portfolio Librarian for Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (now Global Affairs Canada). She holds an M.L.I.S. from the University of British Columbia (2004) and a B.A. in Applied Linguistics from the University of Victoria (1998), and has interests in collection development, library instruction, and research.

Dr. Kelly M. Greenhill is a professor of political science and international relations at Tufts University and a Resident Senior Research Fellow and Visiting Associate Professor at MIT. Greenhill's work straddles four overlapping strands of research: the politics of information; migration, refugees and security; conflict and military operations; and asymmetric influence and coercion. Greenhill holds a Ph.D. and an S.M. from MIT, a C.S.S. in International Management from Harvard University, and a B.A. in Political Economy and in Scandinavian Studies (double major) from UC Berkeley. Outside of academia, Greenhill has served as a consultant to the UN and the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, NATO, the World Bank, and the Ford Foundation; as a defense program analyst for the U.S. Department of Defense; and as an economic policy intern for then Senator John F. Kerry.

Carlene Hempel has been a professor at the School of Journalism for more than 20 years. She specializes in teaching advanced reporting and writing, long-form narrative, and international reporting. Since 2009, she has been leading students on trips abroad to work as part of a traveling press corps. She’s taken groups to numerous countries including Egypt, Syria and Jordan, where her students covered anti-government protests, and later Greece, where they wrote about the Syrian refugee crisis. She lives in Concord, Massachusetts, with her husband and two children. 

Alexandra (Xander) A.K. Meise is an Associate Teaching Professor at Northeastern University School of Law, seconded to the Department of the Army for the 2023-24 academic year as a Visiting Professor of National Security Studies at the Department of National Security and Strategy, School of Strategic Landpower, US Army War College. Her work promoting, preserving, and applying rule of law and accountability mechanisms has spanned five continents, including work on war crimes cases in Timor Leste and Cambodia, for the Special Crimes Unit of the Office of the Prosecutor General of Timor Leste/United Nations Mission of Support in East Timor (UNMISET) and the Extraordinary Chambers of the Courts of Cambodia/United Nations Assistance to the Khmer Rouge Tribunal (UNAKRT), respectively. Meise has also served as a legal observer to the US Military Commissions at Guantanamo Bay. She holds degrees from Dartmouth College, Columbia University: School of International and Public Affairs, and Georgetown University Law Center.

Janet Belanger Morrow is the Head, Resource & Discovery Services at Northeastern University Library, a position she has held with varying titles and responsibilities for 29 years. Her time at Northeastern has covered the transition from a totally print collection to a predominantly electronic collection and has involved the negotiation of more licenses than she cares to remember. She serves on the NISO SERU (Shared E-Resource Understanding) Standing Committee and on ALA Core committees related to Acquisitions and Publications. In the Alma world, she was a co-founding chair of the Alma License Special Interest Group and chaired a working group to advise on the licensing module of Alma. 

Lucie Olejnikova is the Associate Director for Foreign and International Law at the Lillian Goldman Law Library and a Lecturer in Legal Research at Yale Law School. In this capacity, she provides research instruction and assistance to the Yale Law School community, and she oversees the foreign and international law collection. Lucie teaches a two-credit seminar titled Research Methods In Foreign and International Law, which focuses on sources and strategies for international, foreign, and comparative law research with an emphasis on the research process and evaluation of sources in the ever-changing information environment. Lucie also teaches the two-to-three-credit course titled Advanced Legal Research, which is an advanced exploration of the specialized methods and sources of US legal research. Lucie is the Editor of GlobaLex publication, an open access publication dedicated to publishing and dissemination of high level articles on foreign, comparative, and international law research. Lucie is admitted to New York State Bar and is a member of the American Society of International Law, International Association of Law Libraries, and the American Association of Law Libraries.

Sandra Ristovska studies how, under what circumstances, and to what ends images shape the pursuit of justice and human rights in institutional and legal contexts nationally and internationally. Her research is informed by her experiences as a documentary filmmaker and premised on the understanding that without systematic guidance and applications for treating images as evidence, civil rights and human rights may be disparately recognized and upheld. A 2021 Mellon/ACLS Scholars & Society Fellow, Ristovska recently completed a research residency with the Scientific Evidence Committee of the Science and Technology Law Section of the American Bar Association. She is the author of the award-winning monograph, Seeing Human Rights: Video Activism as a Proxy Profession (The MIT Press, 2021), and co-editor of Visual Imagery and Human Rights Practice (Palgrave, 2018). She has held visiting fellowships with the Information Society Project at Yale Law—where she served as an advisor to the Visual Law Project—the Institute for the Study of Human Rights at Columbia University, and the Center for Media, Data & Society at the Central European University.

Jody Santos is the founding executive director and editor-in-chief at the award-winning Disability Justice Project (DJP), which trains persons with disabilities in the Global South in documentary storytelling. A human rights filmmaker, she has traveled to some 30 countries across five continents, documenting everything from the trafficking of girls in Nepal to the widespread and often abusive practice of institutionalizing children with disabilities in the U.S. and other countries. Her documentaries have appeared on public television and cable networks like Discovery Channel, and she has produced stories for New England Public Radio and advocacy journals like Mad in America.

A graduate of Boston University, Santos earned her master’s degree from Northeastern University, where she received the James Ragsdale award as a student dedicated to First Amendment rights. She is also the recipient of American Women in Radio & Television’s Gracie Allen Award, and she was nominated for an Emmy for a special report on black-market guns airing on NBC Boston. More recently, the DJP won two gold Anthem Awards honoring mission driven journalism in 2023 and was nominated for a Webby Award as one of the five best websites in the world promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion. The DJP also was a finalist in the On The Rise: 0-4 Years in Business category in Fast Company’s World Changing Ideas Awards.

Santos was an associate professor of communications at Springfield College before joining Northeastern in 2020. Her book, Daring to Feel: Violence, the News Media, and Their Emotions, was published by Rowman & Lialefield’s Lexington Books division in 2009.

Caroline Walters is the Manager of Collection Development at Harvard Law School Library. She has been with Harvard for ten years. Prior to joining Harvard Law, she was the Acquisitions Librarian at Suffolk Law School Library for many years. Her passion is advocacy for the preservation of legal materials and improving vendor relations. 

Scott Akehurst-Moore is the Senior Law Librarian for Collection Development at Northeastern Law School Library and has worked as a law librarian for seventeen years. He has taught legal research courses such as International and Foreign Legal Research, Advanced Legal Research, Advanced Legal and Interdisciplinary Research, and Legal Research Workshop at Northeastern Law School, and Legal Information Sources at Simmons College. He holds an MLS from Simmons University (2013), a JD from Suffolk University Law School (2006), a Dip. in Medieval History from the University of York (2002), and an MA from the University of Glasgow (2000). Akehurst-Moore co-authored two CALI exercises on Massachusetts Legal Research. His interests include legal and medieval history, fantasy and soccer.

Craig Eastland is Senior Law Librarian for Scholarship and Publishing at Northeastern Law School Library. Prior to joining Northeastern, he spent 12 years working as a law firm librarian at Sullivan & Cromwell, McCarthy Tétrault, and Fried Frank Harris Shriver & Jacobson, where he was Head of Reference. He holds a BFA from the Rhode Island School of Design (1988) and a JD from New York Law School (1997). Craig has also worked at the Pardee Management Library at Boston University, the Committee on Capital Markets Regulation, and Practical Law. He teaches legal research.

Margaret Purdy is a Senior Law Librarian for Information and Digital Literacy at Northeastern Law School Library. Before joining Northeastern, she worked as a legal reference librarian at three different law firms, including research instruction as part of the summer associate program. Her prior work experience also includes three years at a digital advertising agency. Outside of legal research, her interests include travel, hiking, theatre, and baking.