Calculating Support
- Child Support Guidelines 50 State ComparisonThis chart gives the code section of each state's child support laws. The chart also answers basic questions about the state.
Child Support Guidelines by Call Number: KF549 .M672 2013ISBN: 9781454801139Publication Date: 2020-11-03
State Specific Sources
- Family Law Advocacy for Low and Moderate Income Litigants 2018 by Call Number: KFM2494.5 .F36 2018ISBN: 9781683450757Publication Date: 2018Also available on Bloomberg Law, Westlaw and Lexis
Federal Enforcement
The Office of Child Support Enforcement, a part of the Department of Health and Human Resources, oversees the national child support program. They primarily work with state and local agencies. They also collect much data about child support nationally.
Enforcing Child Support Orders
- George L. Blum, Annotation, Validity, Construction, and Application of State Statutes Providing for Revocation of Driver's License for Failure to Pay Child Support, 30 A.L.R. 6th 483 (2008). [Westlaw] [Lexis]
This annotation provides much detail about the revocation procedure for lack of child support in many jurisdictions. While not a 50-state survey, this is the most comprehensive single source on the topic. Note that while the original annotation was published in 2008, it is regularly updated.
- Revocation of Professional Licenses for Failure to Pay Support, 0080 SURVEYS 6 (2018) [Westlaw]
This 50-state survey looks at the topic of professional license revocation. Driver's license revocation is included in a number of these statutes as well.
- Child Support 101: Enforcing Child Support OrdersThis site, from the National Conference of State Legislatures, gives a summary of all of the potential actions that can be taken against someone behind in child support payments.
Social Science Perspectives
It may be useful to look beyond law to see how other disciplines study child support enforcement, and how laws effect different communities.
- Social Sciences Premium CollectionThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
- Academic Search CompleteNewspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles from leading publications and reference sources. Interdisciplinary in scope, the database includes abstracting and indexing for nearly 15,000 publications, over 6,000 of them peer reviewed and 10,500+ full text, covering all academic subjects.
Child Support can be a difficult topic to search with keywords. One good strategy is to find a relevant article, and see which articles cite it. With law journal articles, this can be done with KeyCite or Shepards. With a journal from a social science discipline, use the Social Science Citation Index.