Treatises, Hornbooks and Nutshells
Treatises are in-depth treatments of a legal subject written by scholars in the field. Consult them at any stage in your research -- whether you're looking for an overview of the subject or detailed analysis of a particular point of law. Pay attention to the footnotes for references to other sources, both primary and secondary. Identify them by their "_____ on _______" titles.
Hornbooks are shorter treatises written with law students and practitioners in mind.
Nutshells are brief, handy overviews of an area of law. Pick one up when you want a quick introduction to a subject, or use as a reference or study guide.
Some books in our library:
Children's Rights under and the Law by Call Number: KF479 .D385 2011ISBN: 9780199795482Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Children and the Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF479 .R36 2015ISBN: 9781628104295Publication Date: 2015-03-13
Consent and Confidentiality in the Health Care of Children and Adolescents by Call Number: KF2910.P42 M67 1986ISBN: 0029218004Publication Date: 1986-04-01- English, State Minor Consent Laws : a summary by Call Number: KF479.Z95 S73 2010ISBN: 9780974410821Publication Date: 2010
- Legal ethics in child welfare cases by Call Number: KF3735 .R46 2004ISBN: 1590314077Publication Date: 2004
Recognition of Child Abuse for the Mandated Reporter 3E by Call Number: RA1122.5 .R44 2002ISBN: 9781878060525Publication Date: 2002-03-01- Representing Children in Child Protective Proceedings by Call Number: KF3735 .P47 2007ISBN: 0327161671Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Other Books
Most print resources on Children's Law can be found on the fourth floor in the Library Stacks and on reserve. Checking the catalog will also help find more information. The following list of subject headings may prove helpful:
Children -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
Child Abuse
Informed consent (Medical law) -- United States
Pediatrics -- Law and legislation -- United States
Confidential communications -- Physicians -- United States
Children -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
Child health services -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Child mental health services -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Teenagers -- Medical care -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Medicine, Preventive -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Preventive health services -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Preventive mental health services for children -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Preventive mental health services for teenagers -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Social work with children -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Social work with teenagers -- Handbooks, manuals, etc