Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Resources: Federal

Government Publications

FDSys 

The Federal Digital System (FDSys) serves as a comprehensive website for all publications generated by the three branches of government. The Government Printing Office (GPO) is responsible for maintaining these publications. You can browse a range of government publications such as the Congressional Reports, Federal Register, and United States Code. You can also engage in a general search on the home page which can be narrowed by the collection. This is an excellent site to use when conducting a comprehensive search or for browsing relevant government sources.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 

This resource serves as a finding tool to search United States government publications (1976-current) by agency, title, subject, key word, or through an advanced search. A search will generate a detailed listing for current and historical publications to include title, year, author, government document number, and a direct link if available.

HathiTrust Digital Library 

A free online website which can be used to locate U.S. government publications which have been placed in the public domain. You can search by full-text or through the catalog.

Internet Archive 

A free website which can be used to locate historical government publications. You can first select Texts and then choose American Libraries.

Manuals & Directories

The United States Government Manual 

This online manual is the official handbook of the U.S. and includes updates regarding the activities of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The manual can be searched through a keyword search or category. Some additional resources included are: the U.S. Constitution, an agency acronym listing, and links to agency directories. 

GovSearch 

GovSearch is available as an electronic database through NUSL. This database offers a range of government information at the federal, state, county, and municipal levels. You can search by several terms such as person, office, or facility. Additionally, newsworthy stories and organization charts are also available. You can use this database to find out basic information about a member of government and his or her office, but also components of Congress through a direct link to websites (e.g. Leadership of the House of Representatives).

Online Resources

USA.gov 
A central location where you can find information about a federal agency and its service.  You can conduct a unrestricted keyword search or search by focus area. This resource assists with obtaining initial information or if you only possess a basic level of knowledge in this area.

CongressLink 

A free website which provides information about the processes and procedures of Congress, leadership, and historical information about the institution. Provided by the Dirksen Congressional Center.

Congress.gov 

This free website replaces the former THOMAS.gov and includes legislation from 1973 to present, Congressional Record from 1995-present, Committee activities, and member profiles to include a biographical directory.