Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Research Books
Fundamentals of Legal Research by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (KF240 .J3)
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
International Legal Research by
Call Number: Law Library Stacks (KZ1234 .H64 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
Specialized Legal Research by
Call Number: Law Library Reference Desk (KF240 .S64 1987 )
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
Writing Public Policy by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (JF1525.C59 S64 2010 )
Publication Date: 2009-09-17
Proposal Planning and Writing by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (HG177.5.U6 M56 1993 )
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
Legal Writing Citation in a Nutshell by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (KF245 .T47 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-02-20
Writing for Litigation by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (KF250 .B75 2011 )
Publication Date: 2011-04-28
The Young Litigator by
Call Number: School of Law Library Stacks (KF297 .Y678 2011 )
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Research Guides to Public Interest Firms
Research Guides to Law Relating to Public Interest
Public Interest Article Search
Free Legal Research Sources
Although there are many places one could find free legal information, the sources below seem to be the most reliable and intuitive.
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
- National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.
- Legal Information Institute -- Cornell Law
Legal Information Institute is a small research, engineering, and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY. Their collaborators include publishers, legal scholars, computer scientists, government agencies, and other groups and individuals that promote open access to law, worldwide.
FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business, is the world's leading provider of online legal information and Internet marketing solutions for law firms.
- The Public Law Library
The Public Library of Law is the world’s largest online database of free law. It brings free materials from across the Web together in one place, and adds hundreds of volumes of law that has previously only been available with a subscription.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. They are focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The company provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twittterer databases, as well as additional community resources.