Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Finding Jobs in Law Firms
Research the Firm or Corporation
If you are researching a specific employer, begin your research on the employer's website. This will provide you with good foundational knowledge on their key practice areas, industries, publications and prominent attorneys or key players.
- NALP Directory of Legal Employers
The NALP Directory provides specific information on law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations, and corporations, including lawyer demographics, practice areas, compensation and benefits, diversity and inclusion practices, etc.
View best U.S. firms overall, by region, practice area, diversity, partner prestige, and summer associate programs. Also read employer reviews.
- The AmLaw100
See how the big firms compare to one another
- Chambers and Partners
Chambers USA ranks the leading firms and lawyers in an extensive range of practice areas throughout America.
- Martindale Hubbell
From the main page, select "Advanced Search" under the search box. Enter your desired firm name in the "Law Firm" box
Directory of Corporate Counsel
NUSL Westlaw Subscribers Only. Biographical records of legal counsel for corporations and nonprofit organizations, and complete organization-level listings of corporate counsel, compiled by Wolters Kluwer Law & Business
- LexisNexis Academic
Review the employer's recent cases, search for news articles about the employer, and get company information on over 80 million companies.
- Google the Employer
See what others are saying about the employer on blogs, news articles, and other sites.
- LinkedIn and Other Social Media
Research the employer's social media presence: LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube
Above the Law
Above the Law is site the provides news, insights and commentary on legal developments.
Greedy Associates is a site for law firm associates to discuss anything and everything from salaries and bonuses to the real estate market. It includes message boards and a blog.
General Job Seeking Guides
For a more comprehensive list of career planning books, visit the "Books in our Catalog" tab on the CCOPA Resources LibGude.
General Job Search Databases
Vault is a database for insider career and job information. It includes rankings and profiles; ratings and reviews; industry and profession overviews; job and internship postings; career articles, blogs, and videos; resume and interview tips; and more than 100 industry, career, and employer guides. Access is restricted by license to Northeastern University School of Law students, faculty, and staff.
A job database provided by American Legal Media, publisher of journals such as the National Law Journal and American Lawyer.