Electronic Resources
The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure are available online through Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline. Both Westlaw and LexisNexis have useful commentary on the Rules. You can also find the Rules available for free online at the following websites:
- The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts - This website provides the most current rules of practice and procedure, including the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rules of Criminal Procedure, and the Rules of Evidence. It also provides pending rules amendments and proposed amendments. Additionally, it provides statistical data on the business of the federal judiciary.
- Cornell LII - This website is created by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School, and it is part of the global free access to law movement. You can view not only federal rules, but also federal statutes, the Constitution, regulations, the Uniform Commercial Code, and state law resources.
- GovInfo - The official website for information on the U.S. government. You can also find other documents on the federal, legislative, and executive branches of government on this free website.
Cases
These databases all contain case law. You can find decisions relevant to your topic within civil procedure by using relevant keywords to conduct both basic and advanced searches. For additional databases, consult the Law Library's A-Z Databases List.
- Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new windowBloomberg Law provides in-depth news and analysis of current events along with applicable statutes, administrative regulations and decisions, and cases.
- Fastcase This link opens in a new windowFull text of state and federal primary legal materials, including statutes, cases, regulations, and court rules.
- Justia This link opens in a new windowJustiaprovides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information for lawyers, business, students and consumers world wide
Print Resources
United States Code Annotated by Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF62 1927 .W45Publication Date: 1927-Comprises all laws of a general and permanent nature under arrangement of the official Code of laws of the United States, with annotations from Federal and State courts.- Federal Rules of Civil Procedure by Call Number: Law Library Stacks KF8820 .A195Publication Date: 2007-This two volume set guide provides in-depth analysis and expert commentary for all the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. A separate practice commentary for each rule thoroughly and concisely explains what the rule provides, how the rule has been interpreted and applied by the courts, and how the rule intersects with other rules and other procedural matters. The book is updated annually to include extensive citations to the most important and the most current cases. Appendix B in volume 2 provides forms, including complaints, answers, motions, and requests.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure by Call Number: Law Library Course Reserve KF8820 .A2 2017ISBN: 1454882638Publication Date: 2016-12-16This rule book contains the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, 82 forms including Motion to Dismiss and Answer Presenting Defenses under rule 12(b), supplemental rules of admiralty or maritime claims and asset forfeiture actions, selected federal rules of appellate procedure, selected provisions from United States Code, and Tile 28: Judiciary and Judicial Procedure.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure by Call Number: Law Library Course ReserveISBN: 9781454882619Publication Date: 2017-08-09
