Civil Procedure: Secondary Sources

2013 4th edition is available through inter-library loan. It provides all the details of District Court civil procedure at your fingertips. It allows you to take advantage of all the procedural options that can speed your plaintiff's case – or maximize your defense, to avoid missteps that can cause procedural confusion, unproductive delays and needless trips to court and to effectively navigate your way to the best result possible for your client.

This forms manual is intended to accompany the Massachusetts Basic Practice Manual.

MCLE's Massachusetts Basic Practice Manual gives you immediate access to your own instant law library in the most important areas of solo and small firm practice—over 1,200 pages of substantive law and practice guidance. Compiled for attorneys who practice in multiple areas, this includes citations to the most important statutes and cases, procedural requirements, checklists, step-by-step explanations of how to handle problem areas, sample forms, and much more.

Introduction to legal research -- Legal research as a process -- Secondary sources -- Judicial opinions -- Case law research -- Statutes -- Legislative process and legislative history -- Administrative law -- Constitutions -- Law of evidence and rules of court, including rules of professional conduct.

This looseleaf covers all aspects of civil practice in the Massachusetts courts, with special emphasis on the Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure. The publication is organized numerically by Rule, and Rules are set out in their entirety. Each of the Rules is thoroughly analyzed and explained. Expert commentary provides practical guidance and practice pointers for day-to-day implementation. Corresponding forms and commentary are grouped together allowing all relevant forms and authorities to be found in one research step. Forms cover every aspect of legal practice, complaints, defenses, counterclaims, cross-claims, verdicts and more. Includes complete Massachusetts case and statutory authority, with useful comparisons to federal practice First published in 1974.

This multi-volume encylopedic set contains articles written by experienced Massachusetts attorneys, judges, and law professors and forms. MAPRAC is a complete practice guide for the Massachusetts practitioner.

It offers a broad-based, intensive and practical grounding in the topics vital to trial practice in the Superior Court. You will benefit from the expertise of dozens of lawyers and judges, on topics such as developing top-notch trial advocacy techniques, navigating Rule 9 and its many details, perfecting discovery through your motions practice, presenting and excluding evidence at trial, and understanding the many requirements of dispositive motions. Ethics commentary, judicial insight, ADR perspectives are featured.

This multi-volume treatise is published by West, a Thomson Reuters business. The database is updated annually by printed supplements and by a monthly cumulative supplemental service pamphlet. The Supplemental Service is prepared monthly by the publisher to timely alert subscribers to new case law, legislation, Rule amendments, journal articles and other substantive developments affecting the subject matter of Federal Practice & Procedure.

This 84 volume sat contains more than 44,000 state and federal practice forms, checklists, and timetables. This is comprehensive set of state and federal pleading and practice forms arranged alphabetically by titles that generally correspond to those found in American Jurisprudence 2d.

This looseleaf service provides a complete range of litigation forms needed for practice in any federal court from federal district courts through and including the Supreme Court of the United States.All of the forms are located in chapters based on the controlling procedural rules: Volumes 1-12 deal with civil proceedings in federal district courts. All of the forms appear in chapters based on the relevant Rule of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Federal Procedural Forms is a comprehensive set of forms, "how to" text, and practice aids for use in the federal courts and administrative agencies. It contains the full text of Federal Procedural Forms, a 42-volume treatise of litigation practice. Federal statutory actions, special proceedings, and general procedural subjects are covered in detail. A document is a section of text which may include a form or checklist, Table of Contents, Chapter Summary, Table of Parallel References, or Table of Abbreviations.

Nichol's Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure Forms is a seven-volume set which provides to the practitioner a comprehensive array of federal pleading and practice forms, accompanied by a concise treatment of the latest relevant federal law.

Introduction -- Subject-matter jurisdiction and venue -- Personal jurisdiction -- Ascertaining the applicable law -- Modern pleading -- Joinder of parties and claims -- Discovery -- The pretrial conference -- Adjudication without trial -- The trial process -- Jury trial -- Verdicts and judgments -- Appeals -- Former adjudication -- Securing and enforcing judgments -- Specialized proceedings: class actions, derivative suits, and interpleader.

Personal jurisdiction : the enigma of minimum contacts -- Statutory limits on personal jurisdiction : the reach and grasp of the long-arm -- Seeking the home field advantage : challenges to personal jurisdiction -- Federal questions and federal cases : jurisdiction over cases "arising under" federal law -- Diversity jurisdiction : when does multiplicity constitute diversity? -- Personal and subject matter jurisdiction compared : the first two rings -- Second-guessing the plaintiff's choice of forum : removal -- Proper venue in federal courts : a rough measure of convenience -- Choosing a proper court : the three rings reconsidered -- Easy Erie : the law of Rome and Athens -- Eerie Erie : the substance/substance distinction -- Erie and state choice of law : vertical uniformity and horizontal chaos -- Sculpting the lawsuit : the basic rules of joinder -- Into the labyrinth : joinder of parties under rule 14 -- Essentials and interlopers : joinder of parties under rules 19 and 24
Jurisdictional fellow travelers : supplemental jurisdiction -- Jurisdiction vs. joinder : the difference between power and permission -- The bearer of bad tidings : service of process in the federal courts -- Getting off easy : the motion to dismiss -- When justice so requires : amendments to pleadings under the Federal Rules -- The scope of discovery : the rules giveth, and the rules taketh away -- Tools of the trade : the basic methods of discovery -- Defective allegation or insufficient proof : dismissal for failure to state a claim compared to summary judgment -- The judge and the jury, part one : judgment as a matter of law (directed verdict) -- The judge and the jury, part two : whose case is this, anyway? -- Res judicata (claim preclusion) : the limits of procedural liberality -- Res judicata and the rules of joinder : when does may mean must? -- Collateral estoppel (issue preclusion) : fine-tuning the preclusion doctrine
The obscure kingdom : nonmutual collateral estoppel -- An introduction to the pretrial litigation process : setting the stage for the Schulansky case -- First moves : Schulansky goes to court -- A change of forum : Ronan removes to federal court -- The defendants' perspective : Ronan's answer and counterclaim -- Chain reaction : Ronan brings in Jones -- Preliminary objections : Jones seeks a way out.

1. Introduction to civil procedure and practice -- 2. Subject-matter jurisdiction -- 3. Personal jurisdiction and service of process -- 4. Venue and related matters -- 5. Sources of law -- 6. Pleading and related matters -- 7. Joinder of claims -- 8. Joinder of parties -- 9. Discovery and pretrial conferences -- 1-. Disposition of the action without trial -- 11. Trial -- 12. Post-trial motions, appellate review, and extraordinary relief from judgments -- 14. Finality i

The study of civil procedure -- Personal jurisdiction -- Notice and opportunity to be heard -- Subject matter jurisdiction -- Venue -- Challenging the selection of forum -- Pleadings, amended pleadings, and judgments based upon pleadings -- Discovery and judicial management of litigation -- Adjudication and related motions -- The Erie Doctrine(s) -- The preclusion doctrines -- Defining the scope of litigation : joinder rules and subject matter jurisdiction -- Special multiparty litigation -- Appellate review.

An overview of procedure -- Part I : The constitutional framework for U.S. litigation -- Personal jurisdiction -- Subject matter jurisdiction of the Federal courts -- State law in Federal courts : Erie and its entailments -- Part II : The process of litigation -- Incentives to litigate -- Pleading -- Discovery -- Resolution without trial -- The trier and the trial -- Appeal -- Respect for judgments -- Part III : Probing the boundaries : additional claims and parties -- Joinder.