Environmental Law: Secondary Sources

The ECOLEX database includes treaties, soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.

Formerly called SciTech Connect, this database is a search tool for research and development of the U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Searchable database for rules, comments, adjudications, and supporting documents.

This resource is provided by EPA and allows users to run searches on facilities to check their compliance.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) laws and policies.

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) is a database for all international law jurisprudence, providing researchers access to the widest possible range of international law jurisprudence. ORIL draws upon the expertise of leading scholars and local experts to provide high quality, timely, reports, analysis, and translations where available.

A starting point for international legal terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. Completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries provide the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.

Treatise on Environmental Law examines issues, analyzes the statutes and important case law in every area of environmental law: * Climate change and global warming * Air, water and noise pollution * Solid waste * Hazardous waste * Toxic substances * Radiation * Fertilizer and feedlot pollution * Pesticides * The National Environmental Policy Act and the "little NEPA's" of the states Environmental protection aspects of land use planning and controls * Public lands and conservation * International aspects of environmental protection under United States law * Attorneys' fees in environmental litigation * Alternative dispute resolution in environmental law * Self-compliance programs as alternatives to traditional command-and-control systems The treatise provides: * Thorough analysis of the statutes, regulations, and decisions * Coverage of the emerging issue of climate change and global warming, including U.S. and international initiatives * Coverage of the problems of growth, exhaustion of natural resources, aesthetic values, power shortages, effects of pollution on health * Primary source manuals of relevant federal statutes and regulatory material You can feel confident relying on Professor Grad's explanations and analyses. The depth of analysis is invaluable in dealing with complex and controversial issues and in forming legal arguments.

Environmental Law Practice Guide: State and Federal Law offers comprehensive coverage of the entire spectrum of federal and state environmental law. Everything you need all in one place! Provides practical guidance that cuts across all substantive areas of environmental law. Written for attorneys, consultants, regulators and facility managers by some of the foremost authorities in the country, this publication provides guidance through complex procedures and phases of environmental law practice, featuring state-by-state as well as subject-by-subject coverage. This publication consists of four major units: * Unit I: step-by-step guidance for procedural items involving, for example, environmental impact statements, land preservation, government financing, environmental management systems, document retention requirements, consultants and contractors, environmental due diligence, audits, liability, insurance, taxation, international activities, Indian country activities, regulatory takings, litigation, citizen suits, environmental justice, attorney's fees, conflicts of interest, ADR, civil and criminal enforcement, and practice before the EPA * Unit II: substantive law of environmental quality: air and water pollution, pollution prevention, indoor air quality, vapor intrusion, environmental trading programs, wetlands, drinking water, noise, oceans and coasts, and wildlife protection * Unit III: regulated substances and waste management, e.g.: identifying hazardous substances and hazardous wastes, RCRA, CERCLA, TSCA, OSHA, EPCRA, hazmat transportation, agricultural issues, pesticides, asbestos, lead, PCBs, molds, used oil, medical and infectious wastes, storage tanks, radioactive materials, preparation and responses to disasters and terrorism * Unit IV: state-by-state (plus D.C. and Puerto Rico) guide to environmental law, including an examination of the federal-state relationship, and state environmental law procedures, programmatic areas and reference guides Practice materials include permit and litigation forms, lease clauses, environmental audit checklists, due diligence inquiry letters, site investigation and remediation forms and checklists directories of state governmental offices, lists of environmental and trade associations in each state, and bibliographies. Upon its initial publication, Environmental Law Practice Guide: State and Federal Law was named the Year's Best New Legal Practice Book by the Association of American Publishers.

Topics include: how to conduct an environmental self-audit; civil investigatory procedures in environmental law; civil enforcement under the Clean Water Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the Clean Air Act, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA). You'll also find analysis of 'government guidance documents'; contribution suits between 'potentially responsible parties'; penalties and penalty policies; preliminary injunctions; citizen suits, defenses and awarding of attorneys' fees; the criminal process; the Department of Justice's guidelines for pursuing criminal charges against corporations; criminal representation and defense; and audits to ensure compliance.

Northeastern University research guide containing Snell Library's resources on environmental science disciplines.

Chapters cover topics on: environmental forensics; physics, chemistry, and statistical analysis; groundwater; contaminated soil; health risk assessments; water quality and treatment; wetlands; air; and environmental decision making.

Online encyclopedia that covers a variety of topics on the environment. A section is devoted to environmental law and policy.