Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The In a Nutshell series provides a comprehensive overview on specific legal topics. Each Nutshell listed below is dedicated to a specific topic within environmental law. Consult these when studying for exams.
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: K3585 .G87 2017 Study Aids
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Sources and forms of international environmental law -- Historical continuum -- Implementation and compliance -- Population -- Biodiversity -- Global climate change -- Ozone depletion -- Antarctica -- Toxic and hazardous substances -- Land-based pollution -- Pollution by vessels and offshore oil platforms -- Dumping -- Conservation of marine living resources -- Transboundary air pollution -- Transboundary water pollution -- Desertification -- Nuclear damage -- Future of IEL.
The Law of Hazardous Wastes and Toxic Substances in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF3945 .S685 2018 Study Aids
Publication Date: 2018-03-28
Risk and scientific uncertainty -- Regulating the production and sale of toxic substances -- Regulating the use of toxic substances -- Regulating toxic pollution under the clean water, clean air, and safe drinking water acts -- Regulating disposal of hazardous wastes: the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) -- Introduction to the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) -- CERCLA: cleanup performed by government -- CERCLA: cost recovery actions brought by government -- CERCLA: cleanup mandated by government -- CERCLA: actions brought by private parties -- Additional hazardous waste cleanup options under RCRA and CERCLA -- Common law approaches to hazardous wastes and toxic substances -- Avoiding liability for hazardous substance cleanup costs.
Agricultural Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF1682 .M35 2017 Study Aids
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Contracts -- Secured transactions -- Bankruptcy -- Real property -- Cooperatives -- Civil liabilities -- Water law -- Environmental law -- Regulatory law.
"This Nutshell is specifically developed to meet the needs of the students, instructors, lawyers as well as farmers, ranchers, rural landowners agri-businesses and lawyers as a handy summary of key areas of the law impacting agriculture. Material covered includes an introduction to agricultural law, contracts, agricultural financing, bankruptcy, real property, cooperatives, civil liabilities, water law, environmental law, and regulatory law. The Nutshell covers the general principles of law for ease of class discussion and provides a balance of textual explanation with case citations."
Environmental Law in a Nutshell, 9th by
Call Number: KF3775.Z9 F56 2014 Law Stacks
Publication Date: 2014-02-13
1. Judicial oversight of agencies -- 2. Federalism and the environment -- 3. Pollution control -- 4. Risk Management -- 5. Hazardous waste -- 6. Preservation of natural areas
Environmental Law Treatises, Hornbooks, & Handbooks
Hornbooks, Treatises, and Handbooks offer more thorough introductions to key concepts in specific areas of law. Below are some of books available in the Law Library's collection.
Natural Resource Law by
Call Number: Study Aids KF5505 .L35 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
This treatise is a thorough assessment of the important and growing field of natural resources law. It provides comprehensive coverage of the laws, policies, and decision-making processes pertinent to the “core” commodity natural resources – rangeland, timber, mineral resources, energy resources, and water. It also covers the management and protection of non-commodity resources, such as wildlife, wilderness, and other types of preservation and recreation lands. As an essential addition to any environmental, natural resources, or public lands library, the book puts natural resources law in context with a review of the National Environmental Policy Act, a history of natural resources use and regulation, as well as a user-friendly description of resource economics. -- Publisher information
Principles of Environmental Law by
Call Number: Study Aids KF3775 .J6452 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
The Clean Water Act -- The Clean Air Act -- The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act -- Regulatory enforcement -- The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act -- The Coastal Zone Management Act -- The Endangered Species Act -- The National Environmental Policy Act.