Statistics Research for Lawyers: Business, Economics and Energy

I.      Home
II.     Where to Start?
III.    Subject Specific Resources
        i.      Business & Economics
        ii.     Criminal Justice & Public Safety
        iii.    Education
        iv.    Health & Environment
        v.     History & Government Affairs
        vi.    Immigration & Int'l Affairs
        vii.   Labor & Employment
IV.    Visualizing Data

If you're interested in business related statistics and data, Northeastern provides access to a variety of databases and websites. Please click here for a full list of Business and Management related databases available. Here are just a few examples:

• Economist Intelligence Unit: Provides worldwide country, business, and management analysis.
• Euromonitor Passport: Provides global market research data.
• S&P NetAdvantage: Provides data about stocks, bonds, and other financial instruments.
• SBRNet: Provides sports business data and information.
• WRDS: Provides historic stock and bond prices.

Federal Government agencies also provide information on corporations and businesses:

• FDIC Bank Data & Statistics: Provides banking data and statistics.
• IRS Corporation Source Book: Provides historical tax data on corporations, broken down by industry, income, and year. Data is available from 2000.
• IRS Tax Stats: Provides tax data and statistics for corporations, non-profits, and individuals. Published online four times a year, this resource contains a wide variety of historical tax data.

If you're looking for national and international economics statistics and data, please see the following websites:

• Bureau of Economic Analysis: Provides economic analysis produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce.
• USASpending.gov: Provides detailed data and statistics regarding the spending of the U.S. Government.

There are several good sources for energy usage and consumption statistics:

• U.S. Energy Information Information
• U.S. Department of Energy Open Data
• United Nations Energy Statistics

If you'd like more resources on these topics, please see these LibGuides made by Snell Library:

• Business Research
• Economics Research, Statistics & Data
• Federal Government, Business/Economy
• Social Science Statistics, Business/Economics