This is the "Introduction" page of the "Health Law Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Law Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2016 URL: http://lawlibraryguides.neu.edu/healthlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Cover Art
Health Care Law and Ethics - Mark A. Hall; Ira M. Ellman; David Orentlicher
Call Number: KF3821.Z9 H35 2011
ISBN: 9780314209870
Publication Date: 2011-06-28

Cover Art
Mental Health and Disability in a Nutshell - Donald H. Hermann
Call Number: KF3828.Z9 H47 1997
ISBN: 0314065466
Publication Date: 2008-04-16

Cover Art
Health Law - Barry R. Furrow; Thomas L. Greaney; Sandra H. Johnson; Timothy S. Jost; Robert L. Schwartz
Call Number: KF3821 .H4347 2013 Course Reserves
ISBN: 0314265120
Publication Date: 2013-06-27

Cover Art
Public Health Law Research - Alexander C. Wagenaar (Editor); Scott C. Burris (Editor)
Call Number: KF3821 .P82 2013
ISBN: 9781118137628
Publication Date: 2013-06-04



 

Introduction to Health Law

Health law in the United States is created at both the federal and state level through statutes, regulations, executive orders, and case law. Federal and state administrative agencies play a key role in developing and delivering health care services. Health law incorporates many areas of law including administrative, taxation, insurance, contracts and torts.

Navigating health law is complex, and can be challenging for researchers. It might be useful to begin with secondary sources which will provide background information and serve as a guide to the most relevant cases, statutes and regulations.

Westlaw Resources

  • Westlaw Health Law Directory Page (Practitioner Insights for Health)
    This is the main directory for all health databases in Westlaw. Coverage includes primary law, treatises, law journals, news sources, notification services, forms, and other practice materials. From this directory listing, click on individual databases, read the information buttons describing their coverage, and conduct searches. Combined databases are also available.
  • Health Law Handbook
    This handbook contains current information from health law professionals on physician issues, hospital issues, fraud and abuse, and managed care.
  • Health Law Secondary Sources
    A compilation of secondary sources on health law available through Westlaw including texts and treatises, law reviews and journals, forms, state surveys and newsletters.
  • AHLA Seminar Papers
    Publications by the American Health Lawyers Association
  • Health Policy Tracking Service
    Westlaw provides many topical databases designed to keep practitioners informed of news and events in the health care field.
  • Major Health Care Policies: Fifty State Profiles
    Annual publication providing a state-by-state update on legislation impacting major health care issues, such as Medicaid, long-term care, and public health.

Lexis Advance Resources

  • Health Care Directory
    This is the practice page for health law in LexisNexis. Coverage includes key health topics, top sources, legislation and public records.
  • Inside CMS
    A LexisNexis biweekly newsletter offering news and analysis of regulatory, legislative and legal developments affecting Medicare and Medicaid.

Bloomberg Resources

  • Health Care Reporters
    Weekly reports of recent developments in health law topics, including coverage of state and federal health law-related cases. Use the drop-down menu under "Health Care" to choose a reporter.
  • Health Practice Page
    This practice page features resources related to health law including law journals, treatises and books.
  • Health Books and Treatises
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip