Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Center for Health Policy and Law - Health Law and Jobs: Staying Current

An overview of Health Law, with references for prospective and current Northeastern Students interested in Health Law

Health Policy and Law Journals, Databases, and News Sources

Reading articles about contemporary issues in health law is a great way to keep up with developments in the field. 

Stat+ Logo

Agencies

Federal and State Agencies have the most impact on health law, so it pays to keep track of the more important agency websites.

However, first, always keep track of proposed and upcoming regulations (federal and state).

For Federal, track and keep an eye on proposed regulations at: https://www.regulations.gov/ and final regulations and agency guidance at the Federal Register.

Other agencies include, but not limited too, HHS, Veteran Affairs, FDA, Medicare, Medicaid, CDC, Indian Health Services, NIH, and many more.

I WILL ADD THE LINKS AND FULL LISTS LATER

Creating Search Alerts

LexisNexis logoWestaw logoBloomberg Law Logo

 

Interested in monitoring a particular issue in health law? Try creating a search alert across various legal research databases and Google! Have new developments sent to you.

Lexis+ allows users to request a periodic email digest with new cases, statutes, regulations and more after building and conducting a search. This can be further limited by jurisdiction. For more information on creating an alert, visit Lexis+ Creating a Search Alert help page

WestLaw Edge includes many options for developing customized alerts including:

  • WestClip - Get new documents that match your search criteria
  • KeyCite Alert - Receive updates and changes to citing authorities
  • Docket Alert - Find out when new cases are filed that meet your criteria (party, jurisdiction, case type, etc.)
  • Docket Track - Know about changes and additions to dockets
  • Publication Alert - Lean when new documents are added to a particular publication on Westlaw Next

      "Alerts on WestLaw Next" provides instructions for building these alerts. 

Bloomberg also allows users to create alerts based on searches conducted in the database. Users can send these updates to their email inbox or "Alert Inbox" within the Bloomberg database. For more information, visit Bloomberg Law Product Help & Walkthrough

Google alerts allows a user to build multifaceted searches and receive email notifications for "interesting new content." You can choose how frequently you receive updates and more with Google Alerts

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

"Health costs account for about one-third of state budgets, ranging from financing Medicaid, to paying for state employees and other populations, such as prisoners. State legislatures make thousands of health policy decisions each year, including improving access to appropriate care, determining who should be immunized, licensing health professionals and facilities, and supporting or rejecting initiatives to keep people healthy. NCSL's web site provides health reports and updates listed by 40+ topics."

National College of State Legislatures logo

Podcasts, etc. (to be finished)

http://twihl.com/

https://blog.petrieflom.law.harvard.edu/

https://www.healthaffairs.org/blog

https://khn.org/news/tag/what-the-health/

https://www.publichealthlawwatch.org/covid19-briefings

https://khn.org/news/tag/what-the-health/

Health Law Blogs

  • ACA Litigation Blog
  • FDA Law Blog
  • Health Care
  • ABA Health Law Blog Directory